Fruit Stands Vs. Grocery Stores

I am fortunate. Why? I live within walking distance of a fruit stand. This fruit stand takes most of its produce from grocery suppliers which don’t deem the fruit and vegetables to be “worthy” of conventional retail. The result: produce which is indistinguishably not up-to-par with your local grocery store’s selection for literally more than half the price.

Have I had problems with the produce sold at the fruit stand? No. That said, the produce is often meant to be eaten much sooner than that which is sold at the grocery store, but given the fact that I am within walking distance to the stand anyway, the shorter shelf life isn’t a problem.

Fruit Stand Prices:

$0.69/pound Navel Oranges

$0.69/pound Red Potatoes, $0.79/pound Yams, $0.89/pound Yukon Gold Potatoes

QFC Prices:

$1.99/pound Navel Oranges

$1.99/pound potatoes

Conclusion: If you can find a fruit stand in your city, I would highly recommend making a habit of shopping there for your produce. If you don’t have access to a fruit stand, a lot of Asian markets have fairly decent prices on produce as well.

The grocery store prices for Navel Oranges would have cost me nearly three times as much as the fruit stand oranges.

2 thoughts on “Fruit Stands Vs. Grocery Stores

  1. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put inn
    penning this website. I’m hopinmg to view the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own website now 😉

    Like

Leave a comment